Falling into Wonderland, Through the Looking-Glass

As I child, I hated Alice in Wonderland, I remember having nightmares after watching the film and couldn’t bring myself to read the books. It just combined my worst fears, not being able to go home, abducted by strangers who were prone to explosive rants and selfish behaviour and a grinning cat.

Life is surprising, getting older has helped me develop a new found appreciation for things I once avoided; green olives, avocados, people and of course the Alice in Wonderland books. I devoured ‘Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland’, the sequel ‘Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There’ and have yet to read a book that so accurately describes my thoughts on the future and what it may hold for me.

The series is all about the chaotic journey that Alice undertakes in the World of Wonderland where the inhabitants follow crazy and bizarre rules. The reader sees Alice get used to the rules of Wonderland  and grows up emotionally and physically when she eats a piece of cake or sips a drink. In the sequel, the reader meets Alice  who is a little wiser and   understands the rules of the game but whilst following the endless riddles she  forgets her name, forgets her identity, her dreams, her hopes etc.

As always, what encouraged me to read this series  was a trip to the Royal Opera House last year to watch Christopher Wheeldon’s re-imagining of   Alice in Wonderland with the Royal Ballet. It was magical from start to finish and I was in awe of the gorgeous orchestra and  beautiful surrounding of the ROH. I enjoyed the stunning visual effects, the costume design and the breathtaking choreography. If you didn’t get a chance to see the production, you can still purchase a DVD of this adaptation on the Royal Opera house website.

Here is a clip of the scene where Alice meets the Caterpillar for the first time, I adore the costumes, the graceful movements of the dancers  and stunning backdrops, a delight to watch live.

Playing at the National Theatre this month, the latest production inspired by Lewis Carroll’s popular story  is Wonder.Land, the musical. Wonder.Land is a new musical which is a fantastical coming of age story that explores the pressures of the real world and virtual world through Aly’s eyes. This is one production I am excited to see, find out more here at Wonder.Land.

 

This post was inspired by the Daily Prompt: Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other

Leave a Reply Below :D

