Autumn Playlist

A little collection of songs that I have been listening to over the last couple of months, a mix of electronic pop, indie soul and disco that I’m sure you will enjoy as well.

Let’s Start:

Lianne La Havas ~ Green & Gold

  • I simply adore this song and this artist, such a soothing and chilled vibe throughout the album Blood. I first became a fan after watching Unstoppable MV, it was dynamic and nothing like I’d seen before,the cinematography, captivating voice, the cosmic lyrics, a delight to watch. Green &  Gold was written during a trip to Jamaica,   the track explores identity, ancestry and  feels very much like an autobiographic piece. I can’t put my finger on it, but its something special and exciting to listen to, let me know what you think?

 

Halsey ~ Badlands

  • An artist to look out for,a strong emotive vocalist with a electric pop/synth sound, her debut album  entitled ‘Badlands’ refers to her state of mind, a physical representation of a lonely and desolate mind. Badlands is a concept album which is a risk for a new artist but it paid off, the album is gritty, raw and addicting to listen to and I can’t wait to hear more from her in the future. The combination of the light, almost ethereal beats with the gripping, dark lyrics is just dazzling and I instantly thought of this scene in ‘The Perks of a Wallflower’ whilst listening to the album. What do you think of the album, listen to  it here with  this handy  playlist.  Were you able pinpoint a favourite track?

The Glitch Mob ~ Drink the Sea

  • WOW. I have been listening to this album on repeat, exciting, surprising in that I’m not sure what direction each track will take and I love it. I had been saving this band to pair with a book review on this blog, but I couldn’t find a book that could match the genius of this album. The names of the tracks are brilliant ‘How to be eaten by a Woman’,  ‘Starve the Ego, feed the soul’ , ‘Drive it like you stole it’ . I think it’s a great album to have in the background, whilst working,writing, It has definitely inspired me to think outside the box and  encouraged me to try new ideas! You have no choice but to listen as it is embedded in this post, so let me know what you think, are you trying to combat the urge to be an action hero/superhero, something like James Bond crossed with the Avengers?

 

Brandon Flowers ~ The Desired Effect

  • As a huge fan of The Killers, it was impossible for me not to listen to  Flowers second solo album and as the title suggests it achieved ‘The Desired Effect’ , I rushed out to buy the CD and played  it over and over again. This is very different from his work with the Killers, so much disco  and I love it, the idea of re-working Bronski Beat- Smalltown Boy in his track ‘I Can Change’ was ingenious and set the tone of what you can expect from the album. Plus, it prompted me to listen to ‘The Age of Consent’ again and rediscover a great classic.  Three tracks from the album have a music video; ‘I Can Change’,‘Still Want You’ and  finally ‘Can’t Deny My Love’ which is fantastically creepy, do you recognise the novel it was inspired by? Listen to The Desired Effect here and tell me what you think?  I guarantee you will find yourself dancing along!

 

Leave a Reply Below :D

