Spring has finally arrived!

"Flowers in a field"

So happy, finally I walk home in sunshine and wake up to blue skies… Well most of the time. Unfortunately I haven’t had time to make the most of this weather, and I’m sure that there are lots of other people missing out too. In order to  cheer everyone up, here is what I’ve been listening to constantly whilst doing work. A selection of classical, instrumental and mellow songs that somehow make me feel happy!  Enjoy! Let me know what is on your spring play-list?

Yiruma – Kiss the rain. I really like this song, in fact I adore this composer. I can’t believe I listened to his music so late. Other compositions include River flows through you, Maybe, Yesterday, etc. It isn’t exactly classical music, more contemporary or new classical but the beautiful piano playing just takes me off into another world. My inner pianist is bursting to play these pieces.. too bad I can’t actually play…[ indulge in my pretend life as a piano player for a minute] I usually just play a random song from him, but so you can choose what pieces you like check out this play list on you tube. Read the description for the track order and relax a little 

The Common Linnets – Calm After The Storm. You may recognise the band or the song, because this song reached number 9 in the UK top 40 charts last week  which is amazing! Why is it so amazing, because it is the fourth non winning euro-vison song from outside the UK to enter the charts! I loved this band from the moment they sang in the Euro-vision contest and I was rooting for them to win. There is something magical and captivating about this song, the combination of Ilse DeLange and Waylon voices is beautiful. IIse Delange and Waylon formed the Common linnets for this competition after earning accolades as solo artists for years. The album has already been released and I love it. Nothing like a bit  of country to chill out too.

Ludovico Einaudi – Primavera. I adore this composition, it is so peaceful and beautiful to listen to , I only wish I could create such lovely pieces. In fact I love his work and I’m gutted that I couldn’t get tickets to see him perform last year… 😦  Thankfully I can just slip on a CD or watch a clip on you-tube, and listen to it over and over again. I can’t put my finger on what I like about it but all of the people I have talked to about this composer seem to become fans instantly! Here is Primavera which translates to Spring, perfect for this post! Check out the sidebar to listen to more of his work.

Vivaldi – Four Seasons. How many times can I say the same thing, I love this piece and I listen to it daily. It is wonderful, and each time I listen to it, my favourite section changes. I wonder just out of interest what your favourite season is in this piece? Summer, Winter, Spring, Autumn? What do you think it symbolises?  No matter how many times I replay it, I can’t seem to concentrate on anything else but the music. Experience this for yourself and listen to the full composition here.

This is just a small selection of the composers I have been enraptured with recently. I’m sure that the actual list is far longer, but if you aren’t accustomed to Classical Music, I definitely recommend listening to Yiruma’s works. I’m a newbie myself, so hopefully in this blog you will see what I like to listen to and what inspires my writing!

Image sourced from:

Leave a Reply Below :D

